

ACAO Members Business Meeting Minutes

July 15, 2024, 12:00 - 1:30pm ET

Virtual Meeting:

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZMrceuhrj8rGtQlwi1ZmsKrM29HE2S2lpEF

Attendance List:

Name	Attended	Name	Attended
Michael Carr	Yes *	Michael Quillen	Yes •
Laura de Abruna	Yes •	Amy Rell	No 🕶
Mike Gealt (non-voting)	Yes •	Patricia Salkin	Yes 🕶
Junius Gonzales	No •	Tanya Smith Brice	No -
Krissy Greenleaf (non-voting)	Yes •	Narketta Sparkman-Key	No •
Ying Iverson	Yes *	Jamie Winebrake	Yes *
Mignon Jacobs	Yes •	Maria Woodside-Oriakhi	No •
Sophia Maggelakis	Yes •	Servet Yatin	Yes •
Robyn Parker	Yes •		

Approximately 10 additional members in the room

12-12:15pm: Welcome Comments made by M. Carr

Introduce returning board members
Introduce new board members

Introduce advisors

Membership voting opened

12:15-12:30pm: Finance, Committee & Membership Reports made by M. Carr

Finances - Healthy bottom line

Membership - Slightly down from previous year, but revenue from membership is slightly

ahead

of last year

Committees - Membership survey and exploration of association partners

12:30-1:05pm: General Assembly Topic - "Engaging Closing Institutions: Considerations and Strategies"

by P.

Salkin, J. McCarthy, S. Yatin, and M. Carr

1:05-1:10pm: *Announce vote results*

1. Officers vote: Approved

2. Bylaws Article IV Section 2 correction to member term: Approved

3. Bylaws Article VI Section 3 (extension of President's term to 2 years): Approved

Transfer of the gavel and presidency to M. Carr

1:10-1:25pm Members participated in various round tables & networking

1:25-1:30pm Closing remarks - M. Carr

2024 / 2025 Board of Directors: Assigned Committees & Roles

	Director	Role/Committee	Institution	Term Ending
	Michael Carr	President	North Park University	2026
Executive Committee	Junius Gonzales	Vice President Chair: Professional Development	Montclair State University	2026
	Servet Yatin	Treasurer Membership Committee	Quincy College	2026
	Patricia Salkin	Secretary Membership Committee & Blog Series Coordinator	Touro College	2026
	Laura Niesen de Abruna	Community Engagement & Outreach	Metropolitan State University of Denver	2025
	Mike Gealt	Chair: Advisory Council; Ex Officio member of the board: Membership Cmte		n/a
	Krissy Greenleaf	Executive Director	AMC Source	n/a
	Ying Iverson	Director	Westcliff University	2027
	Mignon Jacobs	Director	Virginia Union University	2027
	Sophia Maggelakis	Community Engagement & Outreach	Wentworth Inst. Of Technology	2026
	Robyn Parker	Director	Saybrook University	2026
	Michael Quillen	Chair: Membership Committee	Rowan-Cabarrus Community College	2025
	Amy Rell	Professional Development	College for Financial Planning	2026
	Tanya Smith Brice	Director	Saint Martin's University	2027
	Narketta Sparkman-Key	Director	James Madison University	2027
	James Winebrake	Professional Development	University of North Carolina Wilmington	2024

Maria	Membership Committee	University of the Bahamas	2025
Woodside-Oriakhi			