ACAO 2023 Standing Committees

Membership and Communications

Chair: Michael Quillen, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Chair: Kevin Carman, University of Wyoming

The purpose of this committee is to oversee and manage communications between the association and its membership (in consultation with ACAO leadership), primarily aimed at recruiting and retaining members. Includes developing member communications that cultivate a distinctive ACAO identity and brand, developing strategies and materials to generate interest in joining ACAO. Members also will use professional contacts to encourage membership, report on membership, and make recommendations about dues. Members will work at generating communications materials and strategies directed toward building membership.


                  Patricia Salkin, Touro College

                  Peter Nwosu, Lehman College of The City University of New York   

                  Maria Woodside-Oriakhi, University of the Bahamas

                  April Mason, Chair Advisory Council

Nominating and Bylaws

Chair: Gail Baker – University of San Diego

The purpose of the Nominating and Bylaws Committee is to both, a) develop and manage the process by which candidates for the governing board are presented to the membership for election (this includes soliciting the membership for nominations and applications for board positions, developing a slate of candidates, and overseeing the election process and informing the membership of the results); and b) review ACAO's bylaws and bring any recommendations for change to the ACAO board of directors for consideration.

Professional Development Committee

Chair: Junius Gonzales, Montclair State University

The purpose of the Professional Development Committee is to guide development, coordination and implementation of programming aimed at supporting professional development for chief academic officers. Professional development programming includes sessions or workshops developed alone or in partnership with other higher education organizations, as well as support for peer mentoring and networking activities.  


                  Pam Stinson, Oklahoma State University - Oklahoma City

                  James Winebrake, University of North Carolina Wilmington

                  Michael Gealt, Advisory Council

 Finance Committee

Chair:  Lori Werth, University of Pikeville

The Finance Committee provides guidance to the board to ensure the financial health of the organization, according to sound fiscal policies.  The committee shall periodically review and revise investment policies, financial and audit documents and fiscal policies of ACAO and make recommendations to the board.


                  Heather Coltman, James Madison University

                  Ellen Granberg, Rochester Institute of Technology

                  Mark Ginsberg, George Mason University


Digital Learning Committee

Chair: Laura Niesen de Abruna, Dominican University of Chicago

The purpose of this committee is to provide information, training, resources, and support for CAOs who are interested in learning more about the potential of digital learning to increase student success. The committee is responsible for the vetting of products and services on the website. The committee will extend and disseminate the information generated by the thirty-two Digital Fellows who were part of the 2016 Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation grant.  Their role moving forward will be to pursue new grants, contracts, and partnerships that will provide more opportunities for more CAOs to learn about the potential of digital learning to increase student retention and persistence to graduation


                  Peter Nwosu, Lehman College of The City University of New York